Lakota Students Named National Merit Semifinalists

Ten Lakota Students Named Among National Merit Semifinalists
Posted on 09/26/2018
This is the image for the news article titled Ten Lakota Students Named Among National Merit Semifinalists

photo of ten national merit semifinalists from Lakota Ten students from Lakota East and Lakota West high schools have earned positions as semifinalists in this year’s National Merit Scholarship Program, recognizing the nation’s most academically talented high school seniors. Honorees include:


Michelle Ballman (Lakota West)

Anwesha Dey (Lakota West)

Alexander Evert (Lakota West)

Chloe Huggins (Lakota East)

William Koger (Lakota East)

Aubert Li (Lakota East)

Idris Malik (Lakota East)

Megan Shaffer (Lakota West)

Linnea Sippola (Lakota West)

Madeline Wilson (Lakota West)

The Lakota seniors are among the approximately 16,000 students nationwide being named National Merit Semifinalists for their performance on the Preliminary SAT (PSAT). About 1.6 million juniors in more than 22,000 high schools took the PSAT, so these semifinalists represent less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors.

“In addition to their academics, this group of Firebirds stands out for their involvement in so many different aspects of school life,” said Lakota West Principal Elgin Card. “From band, theater and student government to an assortment of extracurricular clubs and volunteerism, our honorees truly represent what it means to be a Firebird and we are so proud of them.”

“The National Merit program is one of the most prestigious academic distinctions a high school student can earn,” said Lakota East Principal Suzanna Davis. “On behalf of the faculty and staff at Lakota East who have stood by our Thunderhawks and challenged them through their academic pursuits, I congratulate them on this outstanding achievement.”

About 90 percent of the semifinalists are expected to attain finalist standing, and about half of the finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship. The program will ultimately award more than $31 million in scholarships to about 7,500 students beginning next spring.

The National Merit Scholarship Program also announced these Commended Students:

Samuel Billisits (Lakota East)

Baxter Huntington (Lakota West)

Nicholas Legters (Lakota East)

Karl Isele (Lakota West)

Tyler Patton (Lakota West)

Shannon Pullyblank (Lakota West) Kacy Warne (Lakota West)

Pictured above: Among Lakota's ten students named as National Merit Semifinalists are (left to right) Lakota East seniors William Koger, Aubert Li, Chloe Huggins and Idris Malik and Lakota West seniors Linnea Sippola, Anwesha Dey, Alexander Evert, Madeline Wilson, Michelle Ballman and Megan Shaffer.