2022 School Board Organizational Meeting

School Board Holds Annual Organizational Meeting
Posted on 01/11/2022
This is the image for the news article titled School Board Holds Annual Organizational Meeting

Four women and one manThe Lakota Board of Education held its annual organizational meeting on Jan. 10. Kelley Casper and Darbi Boddywere sworn in for a second and first term respectively. New board member Isaac Adi was sworn in at the December meeting. Members Lynda O’Connor and Julie Shaffer continue to serve their current terms. All school boards in Ohio are required to hold this meeting within the first 15 days of the month.

The board members voted to unanimously approve O’Connor as president and Adias vice president. “I really appreciate our board’s show of confidence and support,” said O’Connor. “We have a tremendous amount of challenges, but we have a strong leadership team at Lakota. I look forward to working together to make sure that we are doing what is best for our 17,000 kids.”

In addition to officer elections, the Board also appointed liaisons to the following positions:

  • Board Policy Committee:                                Darbi Boddy, Julie Shaffer
  • Community Engagement Committee:            Kelley Casper, Lynda O’Connor
  • Diversity Committee:                                      All school board members
  • Facilities Committee:                                      All school board members                  
  • Safety Committee:                                          All school board members
  • OSBA Capital Conference Delegate:             Lynda O’Connor, Isaac Adi (alternate)

Shaffer will continue as Lakota’s representative on the Butler Tech Board of Education, as she is in the middle of a three-year appointment.

Regular meeting dates and work sessions were also set for the 2022 calendar year. Meeting dates for the safety, diversity and facilities committees were also set. This year, the Board, In an effort to increase transparency with the community, set consistent committee meeting dates. All committee meetings will be public, except for the safety committee, which will meet during executive session. 

Policy and community engagement committees will meet on the first Friday of each month. The safety and diversity committees will meet on the alternating first Friday of each month. The facilities committee will meet on the first Monday of each month. The meeting schedule will be posted on the school board calendar.