LEA Announces Scholarship Winners

LEA Announces Scholarship Winners
Posted on 02/02/2017
Photo of LEA Scholarship Winners

LEA Scholarship WinnersThe Lakota Education Association (LEA) announced its 2017 scholarships, recognizing the four recipients at the January 20 Lakota East versus Lakota West boys’ varsity basketball game. 

The union’s scholarship committee awards a total of four $1,000 scholarships in two categories: the LEA Senior Scholarship is given to a senior who has indicated their interest in pursuing a degree in education, while the LEA Member Scholarship is awarded to students whose parents are educators at Lakota.

Sharon Mays, LEA president, states, “Every year, the LEA Scholarship Committee takes on the difficult task of selecting four students from an impressive pool of candidates to reward with $1000 each to use toward their higher education goals. Such gifts are possible thanks to the generosity of our members, as Lakota Education Association members contribute annually to the scholarship fund.”

The students selected to receive a scholarship must demonstrate academic excellence, school and community involvement, and have strong recommendations from teachers and community members.

Congratulations to Erin Metz, a Lakota East senior, who was awarded the 2017 LEA Senior Scholarship. Metz plans to attend Canisius College and major in adolescent education and French. The LEA Member Scholarship winners are Lakota West students Kara Denison and Justin Kelley, and Rachel Moorman-Minton, who attends Princeton High School. Denison plans to further develop her Spanish by studying in the US and overseas while pursuing her passion to help others. Kelley is planning to secure a degree in finance and economics before continuing on to law school, and Moorman-Minton plans to major in political science and work to legislate positive change on a local and national scale.

Pictured above: LEA Treasurer Dennis Beck and Scholarship Chair Tracy O’Rourke (from left) pose with the four 2017 scholarship recipients: Erin Metz, Kara Denison, Justin Kelley, and Rachel Moorman-Minton.