Lakota Shout-Outs: August 24

Lakota Shout-Outs: August 24
Posted on 08/31/2018
This is the image for the news article titled Lakota Shout-Outs: August 24

shout outs for Aug.

Three Lakota Students Earn Top ACT Score

Just one-tenth of 1 percent of students who take the the ACT test earn the top composite score of 36, and you can add Lakota West's Lauren Hasselbeck and Lakota East's Courtney Lyden and Idris Malik to that group!

"Lauren is a wonderful young lady who works hard to achieve at the highest level," said West principal Elgin Card. "She is currently enrolled in five AP classes and takes a college level class at Miami. She is not only intelligent, but well-rounded in her experiences, as she is in AP Art and a member of our swimming team. The Lakota West family is excited about this great accomplishment and proud she is a Firebird!"

Principal Suzanna Davis is equally excited for Idris and Courtney. "Congratulations to Idris and Courtney on their outstanding accomplishment," said Davis. "Having two students score a perfect 36 on the ACT speaks to our hard working students, dedicated parents and outstanding teachers at Lakota East that have prepared our students to achieve at this level. We wish them continued success in their academic pursuits."

The ACT consists of tests in English, mathematics, reading and science. Each test is scored on a scale of 1-36, and a student's composite score is the average of the four test scores. All major U.S. colleges accept ACT test scores and scores provide colleges with evidence of student readiness for the academic rigors of college coursework.

Lakota Students Honored at American Legion Awards Dinner

On Aug. 20, the American Legion Post 681 hosted its award dinner, recognizing several Lakota students for their achievement in Ohio's Constitutional Oratorical Contest, as well as scholarship winners for the 2017-18 school year. 

Honorary students included: Amitoj Kaur, Shannon Pullyblank, Simar Kalkat, Grace Keith, Chloe Heard, Alexandra Gruesser, Tony Amsbaugh, Aubert Li, Bradley Samberg, Alex Strack and Asia Werner. Joining them were Americanism Chair Jerry Nelson and Commander Mark Riesenberg.