Lakota's Logan Named Ohio's 2016 Outstanding Treasurer/CFO

Lakota's Logan Named Ohio's 2016 Outstanding Treasurer/CFO
Posted on 11/23/2016
Logan group


akota Local Schools Treasurer Jenni Logan was named the 2016 Outstanding Treasurer/CFO of the Year by the Ohio Association of School Business Officials’ (OASBO) Foundation for School Business Management. Logan, a 20-year veteran of school business, received her award Nov. 16 at the Ohio School Boards Association (OSBA)’s Capital Conference in Columbus.  Logan (second from right) along with other honorees pictured here, was honored Nov. 16 at the organization's annual conference.

Logan was nominated for the honor by Lakota’s Chief Operations Officer Chris Passarge.

“(During the last levy campaign), Jenni laid out a vision of financial stability and a plan of sustainability through the implementation of strong financial principles,” Passarge wrote. “She has backed up her vision and plan, as evident in the district’s current financial status.”

Lakota Acting Superintendent Robb Vogelmann added his support to Logan’s nomination. “She has initiated countless changes that have resulted in our financial forecast changing from a deficit spending budget in 2012 to a balanced budget beyond 2019,” Vogelmann wrote. “One of the most important outcomes of her actions is that our students are able to have greater opportunities.”

Logan’s nomination packet referenced a myriad of accomplishments happening under her leadership and contributing to Lakota’s financial turnaround in recent years. That includes a passed levy (after three failed attempts); a balanced budget, paired with a rising cash balance; a consistently high bond rating; frequent bond refinancing; legislative advocacy efforts for state funding; a new and more sustainable compensation model for teachers; a reorganization of Lakota’s data collection process for maximized state funding; and many others.

Each year, the OSBA honors just four Ohio school business leaders. Logan is the third Lakota leader in the last five years to earn one of these awards. Chris Passarge was named “Business Operations Manager of the Year” in 2011 and Chris Burkhardt “Food Service Director of the Year” in 2015.

“That kind of streak adds up to a renewed confidence and trust in Lakota’s ability to operate in a fiscally-responsible and stable manner, while still delivering the high-quality education our community expects and deserves,” Vogelmann said. “Jenni is one of many visionary leaders at Lakota and I am so proud of the way our staff has embraced and helped operationalize some of the big ideas they’ve introduced in recent years.” 

The Outstanding Treasurer/CFO Award was created by OASBO’s Foundation to recognize the accomplishments of Ohio’s school business officials in their exceptional service to their districts, communities, and the profession. The honor also provides a $500 college scholarship for a Lakota senior, sponsored by American Fidelity Assurance Company.

Logan served as OASBO’s President in 2005-06, has participated in numerous committees and task forces, and was the 2015 winner of the Chuck Gossett Memorial Scholarship, recognizing an OASBO member for contributions of time and expertise on legislative issues and involvement.

Logan has used her experience and passion for public education to become a strong advocate for her school district and for Ohio public education.