Student-Athletes Celebrate National Signing Day

Student-Athletes Celebrate National Signing Day
This is the image for the news article titled Student-Athletes Celebrate National Signing Day

In recognition of this year’s National Signing Day on Feb. 3, Lakota East and Lakota West high schools honored student-athletes who will continue their athletic careers at the college level.

The two ceremonies were attended by family, friends, administrators, coaches, teachers and other Lakota staff.


The Lakota East Athletic Department held its ceremony Wednesday morning, honoring 22 special young men and women who have earned the opportunity to continue to play their sport on campuses all over the country while earning a college education.

“These students have earned millions of dollars in athletic scholarships and academic grants,” said East Athletic Director Rich Bryant. “It’s a very exciting time for these student-athletes as they get to realize goals that they have worked towards for the better part of their lives. Lakota East High School could not be more proud to recognize these individuals.

Photo courtesy of Trim Photo.

 Taina Benitez (Volleyball – The State University of New York at Buffalo)
Hunter Burdno (Football – Morehead State University)
Sarah Driscoll (Volleyball – James Madison University)
Andrew Emrick (Basketball – Fairmont State University)
Austin Hatfield (Baseball – Carson-Newman University)
Nick Hoffmeier (Football – Ashland University)
Alex Hundemer (Football – Robert Morris University)
Melissa Jacobsen (Softball – Cleveland State University)
T.J. Jemison (Football – Cincinnati Christian University)
Kaleb Lepper (Baseball – Cornell University)
Jacqui Lohman (Lacrosse – Ohio Northern University)
Ryan Middendorf (Baseball – Lake Erie College)
Tristan Philpot (Basketball – University of Indianapolis)
Mackenzie Rieck (Softball – Owens Community College)
Samantha Rodgers (Basketball – University of Cincinnati)
Tommy Siemer (Baseball and Football – Bluffton University)
Dalton Strunk (Football – Miami University)
Ryan Tatman (Golf – Ohio Northern University)
Zack Tenerowicz (Golf – University of Detroit Mercy)
Aly Thomas (Softball – Methodist University)
Jacob Timming (Football - James Madison University)
Kianah Towe (Softball – University of Missouri – St. Louis)


 Lakota West also hosted an event on Feb. 3, the first day of the NCAA winter signing period for football, soccer, and water polo. The Firebirds had nine football and soccer student-athletes sign with their respective schools. (These student-athletes join the five students who signed this past fall. Additional athletes will also sign on the spring signing day on April 13.)

“We are very fortunate and proud of a rich tradition at Lakota West of student-athletes having the opportunity to play at the next level,” said West Athletic Director Scott Kaufman. “Since opening in 1997, Lakota West has had an average of 26 students per year move on to play in college. This far exceeds the national average and this year is no exception. We are thrilled to share this experience with another terrific group of student-athletes.”

Photo courtesy of Jenny Walters Photography.

Ashley Adams (Soccer - Florida International)
Maddie Jewell (Soccer - Wright State)
Sean Mahone (Football - West Virginia University)
Lizzie Matchett (Soccer - Hanover College)
Kavanaugh McCarthy (Football - Butler University)
Jack Nguyen (Football - Georgetown College)
Zach Nutter (Football - Baldwin Wallace)
Emma Roth (Soccer - Mount St. Joseph)
Tim Tanner Blair (Football - Bowling Green State)